Facebook Facebook Share
Posted by Rebecca Rennison, Director of Public Affairs and Services on Thursday 18 June 2015

We’re pleased to announce that the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Ovarian Cancer has been reformed.

After the election we needed to hold the Annual General Meeting for the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Ovarian Cancer. The meeting was essential if we were to continue the APPG – unless we registered by 7 July the Group would no longer exist. This was a closed meeting for MPs and peers only.

We needed to have at least five parliamentarians there, and find four MPs or peers happy to be our group officers. After a nervous wait, enough MPs arrived for the meeting to take place – particular thanks has to go to Nigel Evans MP who very kindly popped in to help us reach the necessary numbers before more of our members arrived.

First, we dealt with the election of officers. Sharon Hodgson MP was re-elected as Chair of the APPG and Lord Clement-Jones, Mark Durkan MP and Stuart Andrew MP were all elected as Vice-Chairs. As well as welcoming our new members and officers, the Chair took the time to thank those members who stood down or lost their seat at the election. In particular Russell Brown who had served as the Group’s Treasurer and made a significant contribution to the work of the APPG.

Next, there was a chance to look back at what the Group had achieved over the previous year. Activity had included three meetings and a dinner. Speakers throughout the year included leading researchers, the National Clinical Director for Cancer and our very own Simon Newman.

Finally, members talked about plans for the coming year. Members decided they would like to focus on two key areas. The first being access to drugs, with the aim to hold a meeting on this issue in the autumn. The second key area they wanted to address was symptoms awareness campaigns, in particular looking at campaigns across the four nations and seeing where lessons can be learned.

Rebecca Rennison, Director of Public Affairs and ServicesRebecca Rennison, Director of Public Affairs and Services